Your Cart

The Dead Weather Announce "Blistering" Live Album From Their First Year

Posted by Thomas Spillane on

Jack White, former frontman of The White Stripes, has revealed The Dead Weather are releasing a new live album.

White, who has been known to dip his fingers into many different music projects, serves as the drummer for The Dead Weather and will be releasing the album on his own Third Man Records label.

Image Source

Live At The Mayan was recorded after the release of the group’s debut album, Horehound (2009) at the legendary Mayan Theatre in Los Angeles. The band, who also features Alison Mosshart (The Kills) on vocals and rhythm guitar, Dean Fertita (Queens Of The Stone Age) on lead guitar and Jack Lawrence (The Raconteurs) on bass, give an especially explosive explanation of the album on their website.

The Dead Weather played an absolutely incendiary set at the legendary Mayan Theatre in Los Angeles on August 26th 2009. This fiery performance captures the band at their most feral and raw, firing on all cylinders, full of broken glass, black leather and strobe lights. For YEARS this show has been whispered about as one of the best shows the band has ever played, so now felt a better time than ever to release this performance into the world.”

Image Source

The live album, however, can only be bought by subscribing to Third Man Records’ Vault series. Once subscribed, the package includes: The Dead Weather Live at the Mayan 180-gram LP and DVD, as well as “Three Dollar Hat” and “Lose the Right” from the band’s latest album, Dodge and Burn (2015) on a stormy yellow and black 7-inch vinyl.

In a press release, as reported by Consequence of Sound, White himself had a fair few praises to sing of the live album. Fresh from releasing new single, “Battle Cry”, to accompany a new short film promoting his sports company, White said that Live At The Mayan “…serves as a blistering reminder as to why this band still matters."

The track list for Live At The Mayan can be found below with a link to a clip from the live rendition of “Hang Your From The Heavens”.

01. 60 Feet Tall

02. Hang You From the Heavens

03. You Just Can’t Win (Them Cover)

04. So Far From Your Weapon

05. A Child of a Few Hours is Burning to Death (West Coast Pop Art Experimental Band Cover)

06. No Hassle Night

07. Will There Be Enough Water?

08. I Cut Like a Buffalo

09. Treat Me Like Your Mother

10. New Pony (Bob Dylan Cover)

What’s your favourite The Dead Weather song? Let us know at University of Rock!

Subscribe to University of Rock's official newsletter here for more stories you don't want to miss plus exclusive new releases, promotions, and more.

Are you a musician looking to grow your Instagram following? Click here to reserve a feature on one of our accounts!